Executive Board


President: Matt Krott (krott@psu.edu)

The Graduate Student Body President works with different offices across Penn State to help graduate and professional students, including the University President and the Vice President for Student Affairs. The Graduate Student Body President sits on various decision making boards including the Board of Trustees (non-voting), Alumni Council, and the Student Fee Board.

Vice President: Brianne Pragg (bep157@psu.edu)

The Vice President of GPSA works extensively with the various Committees in GPSA to ensure that they are working hard on projects and activities benefiting graduate students. As well, he or she serves as the Chair of all General Assembly Meetings and in numerous roles assigned by the President.

Treasurer: Erica Schwalm (els258@psu.edu)

The Treasurer is the elected chief financial officer of the GPSA and is responsible planning the budget, managing expenses and recording fiscal transactions for the Assembly. He/she is also the organization’s primary liaison to the Office of Associated Student Accounts (ASA). The GPSA Treasurer is responsible for tracking the expenses and budget for the Graduate and Professional Student Association.

Secretary: Nasr Cheaib (nqc5100@psu.edu)

The Secretary is responsible for taking minutes at the GPSA assembly meetings, reporting them to the graduate and professional student body, and disseminating all pertinent information that affects Graduate and Professional Students through our GPSA Newswire. The Secretary also keeps the website up-to-date so that it is an accurate source of information for graduate and professional students.

Faculty Senator: Kevin Reuning (kjr228@psu.edu)

The Faculty Senator serves as the Graduate School’s official student representative to the University Faculty Senate (UFS). The UFS deals with issues regarding academics and programs along with the policies governing them at Penn State.


Adviser (non-voting): Dr. Adam Christensen (aec187@psu.edu)

The Adviser guides the graduate and professional student government through their advice on leadership, their commitment to service, and their knowledge of Penn State.

Dr. Christensen is the Director of Student Affairs Research and Assessment at Penn State.


Chair of the Graduate Council Student Caucus: Ling Yang, College of Engineering (lby5034@psu.edu)

Through GPSA, the graduate student body elects five members to serve on the decision making body for the Graduate School. Only the Chair of the Student Caucus (internally elected) serves on the Executive Board, but all student Graduate Council members are considered members of GPSA and are elected each year during the GPSA elections.

Other Council Members:
Open Position – contact GPSA President Matt Krott (krott@psu.edu) if you are interested in filling the vacancy 
Claire Kelling, Eberly College of Science (cek32@psu.edu)
Alex Wilson-Held, Intercollegiate Degree Program (axw66@psu.edu)
August Jenkins, College of Health & Human Development (acj5@psu.edu)

Leave a Reply